Building Robots at School

September 11, 2008

Hello World!

Filed under: Uncategorized — dtengineering @ 3:43 am
Tags:

Well, “Hello World” is the stereotypical first computer program, so why not have it as my first blog post.  This is my first go-around with running a blog, and I’ve been inspired to do it by many of the questions I’ve been getting lately about teaching robotics.  It seems that there are a lot of people out there who, like me, share the vision of using robotics to excite and energize high school students to learn about technology, but are kind of unsure of the best way to go about it.  I certainly don’t profess to know the “best way”, but having spent the last seven years doing a variety of robotics projects with students, I can certainly offer some suggestions on what I’ve seen that works well, and let people know what I’m trying… and why… this year.  My main goal is that by posting my thoughts and experiences on a (hopefully) regular basis, it will encourage others to respond with useful comments, questions and suggestions.  In other words, this is my sneaky trap to get YOUR good ideas.  So c’mon… spit ’em out… and leave some comments.

1 Comment »

  1. Looking good. Just thought I would write something so you know at least someone has read it 🙂 I am doing syringe robot arms right now that incorporate 1 dc motor. The bots will play tic-tac-toe against each other. Going to start up ROV’s in another week and negotiating access to the local pool for a competition. I have a website up and running http://sd71.bc.ca/sd71/school/vanier/teched/ that I will eventually put pictures/video on of my projects (once I have some complete). Finally, waiting for Vex equipment to show up so the students can get going on it (robotics club is really excited).

    Comment by Steve Claassen — September 25, 2008 @ 10:19 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

